Wednesday’s Learning Opportunity

Posted: January 13, 2016 in Attitude, Collaboration, Learning, PLN, Uncategorized

Wednesday

Today is Wednesday, January 13, 2016, and today was “one of those days” !!!

It started off good, went bad, then ended up good again.  Notice that there were two positives to only one negative so that pretty much sums it up.  The positive outweighed the bad today, so I’m not going to talk about the negative here.

Last week when we returned from our Christmas Break, I met with my faculty and staff and we discussed a few things, one of which was an “idea” I had.  One of my goals is to get my teachers to get together more so they can learn from each other.  This is not a new idea at all.  It’s done everywhere …  on Twitter, in libraries, in cafeterias, in teacher’s classrooms.  Everywhere except at my school.   Not really … that’s an exaggeration.  It does take place at my school in pockets, on a small scale.  And often times, it’s done begrudgingly.

What I want to do is have a day once a week where my teachers get together and share ideas with each other. I decided on Wednesday after school — 3:45 in the library.  I told everyone on my campus about it last week.  This week I sent an email to the Jr. High and Elementary teachers and invited them to come.

This is what I said about the Wednesday Learning Opportunity (the name I made up):

What it is–
  • Learn from each other
  • Share ideas
  • Discuss Articles/books
  • Use of Social media
What it not —
  • Gripe session
  • Mandatory

I knew that I didn’t need to force this on them at all, so I made sure to put that it was NOT mandatory.  I still had one teacher ask me if she had to come!  Again, I said that is was not mandatory.

So today, before I went to bus duty, I stopped by the library and got the computer and projector set up and wondered if anyone would show up.  I was curious and told myself that if no one showed up today that I would try again next week, and then again the next week if I needed to.  In reality, I thought to myself that the “Not Mandatory” part of it would offer a free ticket for them not to come!  After all, the first question I got about it was from a teacher asking if she “had” to come!!

While at the bus stop this afternoon, I got an email from an elementary teacher letting me know that she wasn’t going to make it because she had a sick child at home, but that she would be here next week.  That was cool.  Somebody wanted to make it today but just couldn’t.  And I knew that I would have at least one person next week.

So as the last bus leaves at 3:40, I make my way to the library.  I walk in and to my surprise there are 11 teachers, 1 counselor, 1 assistant principal, and 1 superintendent.  That was 15 people (including me) getting together to talk, ask questions, and share ideas.

Not a bad way to end the day.

TodayWasVeneer_1024x1024.jpg

Comments
  1. Nicole says:

    Sorry that I missed it…had tennis practice with the new sign ups this year. So glad that others could participate.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

