One Journey Ends, A New Journey Begins

Posted: July 20, 2014 in Attitude, career
Tags: , , ,

This is one of those posts that begins … “I don’t really know where to start!”   There are so many emotions that have been running through me the last few days; however, I am not going to talk about these emotions in this post.

For the last 10 years, I have been principal of Ore City High School, which has an excellent faculty and staff.  They have truly made my job easy.  We had a good system going and I would hope that it continues after my departure.  We all have grown in our roles as teachers and administrators (in the last few years especially).  We moved from a district-led staff development model to a campus-based, teacher-led model which has allowed for the emergence of new teacher leaders and also has allowed for a greater connection and cohesiveness among the teachers and staff.  I truly believe that OCHS is the best campus in the district.   We were the trendsetters, the risk takers, the trailblazers for OCISD.  The teachers are always open to new ideas and challenges and I encouraged them to take risks, use social media, connect and collaborate with each other as well as with other educators across the state of Texas, the United States and Canada, as well as across the entire globe.  I encouraged them to always look for ways to grow professionally.  They accepted this challenge!!  I am so proud to have been associated with the faculty and staff of Ore City High and I truly wish them much success in the future.

Now as I move into my new position as principal of Paul Pewitt High School, I am looking forward to new challenges, new teachers, new students, and a new community.  I am very excited about this opportunity and the feedback I have gotten so far has been very positive.  Together we will make a big impact on our students as well as on each other.  We will connect, learn, share, and grow.  It is going to be fun, and I can’t wait to get going.

Comments
  1. Nancy says:

    I am so proud of you. You are a great leader, husband, father. former student, and friend. a truly gifted and outstanding young man. God bless you as you move from Ore City to Pewitt;

  2. scotwright says:

    Thank you for the kind words!

  3. Melody Herron says:

    Welcome to Pewitt!! We are excited to have you and your family join our family!

  4. Mike Wetsel says:

    So THAT’s where you went to. Glad to see you are still in the game. Really enjoyed working with you as a principal at OCHS.

Leave a Reply

