Locked Out

It’s 2013.  It’s the 21st Century.  It’s not 1983, when there was no internet in schools.

When I was in high school, we didn’t have computers.  I had to take a class called Typing, and we used typewriters (which I don’t know if they even make them anymore).  We went to a convenient store to play Pac Man and Ms. Pac Man.  Every so often they would get a new game.  Galaga, Asteroids, Frogger, Space Invaders are the ones I remember.  When we wanted to watch a movie, we had to go to the movie theater.  There was no Netflix or YouTube.

I had a U.S. History teacher who put his notes on an overhead for us to copy.  Page after page!  We had a test every Friday.  We couldn’t talk or ask questions.  Remember this … read the chapter and answer the questions at the end of each section?    Teachers checked attendance and put the paper on a clip outside the door.  What’s scary is that there are some teachers today who would still like to be like this!!!

Remember, there was no internet back then.  But today, we are fortunate to have access to the internet and it is a great tool.  (Thanks Al Gore for inventing it!!)   Students today have grown up with the internet.  They don’t know life without it.

Luckily it’s now 2013.  We have access to the internet and it is a great resource for the teachers and students.

Let’s lock it down and see what happens.

I can tell you what happens.  It creates a lot of turmoil.  It creates a lot of chaos.  It creates uncertainty with teachers and students, who have been fortunate enough to have an almost all access pass to the internet.  They do not understand why this had to be done.  Our filter has taken care of the bad sites for the most part.  Now, though, it was totally locked down but is gradually allowing certain sites to be allowed.  All this has been done for a reason, but most people don’t care what the reason was.

Many of us have taken for granted what we have and how fortunate we are at my school.  What I am afraid of, though, is that the loss of most of our internet access will set us back.  Maybe not as far back as the 80’s, but at least a few years.  Back to a time where the teachers didn’t feel comfortable using technology.  What I’m afraid of is that we’ve lost a year’s worth of technological progress in just one week.

I hope not!

Comments
  1. Jennifer Rogers says:

    Yes, I’m a technologist/technician/teacher, and I am so lost and undone without internet access and problems to fix or decipher or troubleshoot I fixed a vacuum cleaner yesterday on my campus. It brought to mind my working with my dad in the 70s on vehicle engines. I wonder if transportation needs some mechanical help?

  2. I think you have to work with ADVERSITY. It happens…A TON OF THINGS HAPPEN –it’s life. I believe if a few weeks of impatience and grouchiness can set you back a year, you have BIGGER problems in your life. haha! LET’S ROLL. …no matter what we come up against!

Leave a Reply

