positive

My heart goes out to the victims and their families from Boston.  I pray for quick recoveries and emotional healing as everyone tries to recover from this senseless tragedy.  We live in a world today where violence is everywhere … just look at the news as they report on the explosions at the Boston Marathon.  I understand that it’s their job; however, I know that there are positive stories intertwined within all of the negative stories.  I would hope that people can focus on these positives while at the same time not downplaying or forgetting what happened.

As I was coming to school this morning, I was thinking about how one person can do something bad and that is all that we talk about.  We forget (or ignore) all the good.  I am guilty of doing this.  I fail to recognize all the good that goes on at my school on a daily basis.  I really need to apologize for this.  I am fortunate to have a great faculty and staff and great students, but I don’t do enough for them to let them know how great I think they are.  I tend to focus on the small percentage that is the negative.  Every organization has its good and bad, and in my case, I tend to only focus on the bad.  Why do I do this?  I don’t know, but what I do know is that I need to change.  I need to recognize and publicize the good more.  I can’t ignore the bad, but I have to put the good first.

As we move forward from this tragedy in Boston, lets all try to do a little more good today that we did yesterday.  Lets all try to positively recognize more people today than we did yesterday.  Lets try to not focus on what’s wrong with something instead lets focus on what’s right.

Lets make today better than yesterday, and then tomorrow better than today. 

 

good not bad

Comments
  1. Ray Deason says:

    A good blog. Now, how do you stay positive in coaching those teachers that either reject or don’t want to improve and they perceive that as being negative. Overall, I do like the blog. We all struggle with this.

    Ray Deason, Ed.D.
    Assistant Superintendent
    Ore City ISD
    903-968-3300 (x2204)

    Qualities for Success:
    Integrity: Doing what’s right when no one is watching.

  2. Jennifer Rogers says:

    I know that it takes years to create the habit of seeing the positive in everything and everyone and I am far better at it with young people than with adults (I think adults should know better and be responsible, they already have experience making mistakes), but see, that is stinkin thinkin too and that is where I need more work. Recognizing our shortcomings and being willing to change our mentality and see things from a different perspective is always the first step.

Leave a Reply

