This morning I went to McDonald’s for a sausage biscuit.  As I drove up to the speaker to place my order,  a loud, very grumpy sounding voice came through the speaker.  I placed my order and drove up to the first window where the girl with the loud, grumpy sounding voice was stationed to take my money.   She gave me my change back as she was yelling in her loud, grumpy sounding voice over the speaker to the car behind me.  She didn’t say anything else to me.  I was glad!

Then I drove to the next window to get my order.  The guy working that window was totally opposite than the girl at the first window.  He said “Good Morning! ” as he handed me my sausage biscuit.  He was friendly and had a smile on his face.  Then he said, “Have a nice day!”

As I drove off, I thought to myself, “What a different experience that was!”

Can you relate to this story?

How many times do we meet someone and their actions or tone of voice sets our day in motion for either a good day or a bad day?  How about your tone of voice or your actions?  Have you ever thought about what you do or say … whether you greet someone with a smile or a frown … whether you have a loud, grumpy sounding voice …  or if you have a friendly, have-a-nice-day attitude?

We’re in the customer service business.  Our customers are our students.  They go from classroom to classroom, teacher to teacher,  instead of from window to window.  What you say and how you act toward your customers, the students, has a significant impact on whether they have a good day or a bad day.

You are in total control of your actions and your tone of voice.  So remember this … you’re in the customer service business and your students need to have a great day.

Have-a-great-day-Lily-lilyz-16522988-500-375

Comments
  1. Kristal Floyd says:

    Scott,
    Our smallest interactions can impact others in BIG ways. Thanks for reminding us to provide quality customer service.

Leave a Reply

