Pessimism or optimism.

I try to be as positive as possible.  I believe in people.  That’s just me.  I am an optimist …

But I am also a realist.  I don’t look at life through rose-colored glasses.  I know that sometimes bad things happen.  That’s the world we live in.  I don’t like it, but it is a fact of life.  Sometimes people do bad things.  Sometimes they do things that disappoint me.  Unless you live alone on a deserted island, or if you are a hermit holed up in a cave with no contact with the outside world, it is highly likely that you will have to face some negative action sometime in your life.

In the last week at school, on two separate occasions, we had iPods that were stolen from a classroom.  Two in the same week!  At my school, I am VERY fortunate that this is something that I very seldom have do deal with.  I am extremely lucky to work in a great school with some great kids!   After some serious conversations, one magically showed back up.  That was good, because that was all we wanted.  However, there was one that was still missing.  One week later … 7 days … it turned up … thanks to an honest person who came forward with some helpful information.

It’s disappointing when someone steals iPods from a classroom.  It’s disappointing when the thief is uncooperative and continues to lie about their actions.  But  it is rewarding to know that there are good students who accept responsibility for doing the right thing and did their part to help us catch this person.

There are bad people in this world and there are good people in this world.  Bad things will happen and good things will happen.  It’s POSITIVE vs. NEGATIVE.  I can dwell on the negative or I can dwell on the positive.  It’s my choice.

Have you ever had to deal with negative people or negative actions?  I know you have.  I would like to hear your thoughts on how you dealt with it.

feedback-bubble

Comments
  1. I realize that sometimes i need to take off my rose colored glasses and remember the negative part of this life—like being a defensive driver. I will work in that but no matter what—I will strive to always see the good no matter how bad the situation or person/people involved. This is a great post. Thanks for keeping me grounded at times and supporting me as a teacher.

Leave a Reply

