That’s The Way We’ve Always Done It

Posted: July 29, 2012 in PLN
Tags: ,

Image

After my last post about Teacher Leaders, I got to thinking about all the obstacles we face in schools today – insufficient funding from the state, emphasis on standardized tests, etc.  But even with these obstacles present, we still do a pretty good job in schools.  However, there is one looming obstacle that I just can’t understand why it exists.  It is one that I would bet is present in every school or school district in the country.  It is one that can cause more problems than you can imagine.  It is one that can put the brakes on progress.  What is it? … THE STATUS QUO.

Status Quo from a teacher says you are at your best.  You cannot grow.  What you are doing in the classroom has no room for improvement.   Status Quo from a principal says that the school is at its best.  The school cannot grow.  The school has no room for improvement.  Status Quo from a superintendent says the district is at its best.  The district has no room for improvement.  The district is at its best.

Status Quo from the students!  Do we really want to know what they think?  Do we really sit back and take an honest look at what we are doing as educators and ask ourselves if we can do better?  No!  But we have to.  We can no longer accept the Status Quo!  No longer can we say, “That’s the way its always been done!”  Our students deserve better from us!

I am fortunate to have some teachers who are challenging the Status Quo!  They are moving forward and will do a great job on this journey.  They will face hurdles, setbacks, and successes.  They know it, but they are ready for this challenge.  I hope the others who are “set in their ways” will get on board.  I have!

Comments
  1. shannonjoe says:

    Love this post! It’s so true. My favorite saying that my husband uses ALL the time is:

    If you always do what you’ve always done, then you’ll always get what you always got.

    When are we going to wake up and realize that just because we have ALWAYS done something, it doesn’t mean that it has been the right thing to do.

    My goal for this year is to constantly question myself about my purpose. Why am I doing this? Hopefully, it will make me become more aware of why I am doing things in my classroom. Oh, gosh. It might even make me “change”. 🙂

    Thanks for the great post!

    Shannon
    http://www.irunreadteach.wordpress.com

  2. I think our campus is a great place. Our group is more like a team than a mixture of individuals. I can’t wait to see all the new things we all do through collaboration and ENCOURAGEMENT! Thanks, Mr. W, for getting the ball rolling instead of DROPPING IT! ha!

Leave a Reply

